END OF THE YEAR COFFEE…A REDUX

Just over a year ago I wrote about having that Your End Of The Year Coffee With… Yourself.  Basically, my thoughts were about putting some time aside to reflect, review and renew what you have just gone through, how it aligned with your goals and what changes (if anything) over the next year you want to make.

Now’s the time

This time of year is good to mull over those thoughts and take stock in your activities.  I still believe in taking out a piece of paper and writing headlines along the top in order to help guide yourself.  Along with this, it’s also time to be disruptive to yourself.  No, I don’t mean, “wind-sprints- ‘till-you-drop.” Ask some additional questions to help pull out some constructively disruptive ideas as they could lead to both creative and innovative pathways.

“The only man who never makes mistakes is the man who never does anything.”

 Theodore Roosevelt

Disorderly for Goodness’ Sake

I’m a fan of #TimFerriss and while I don’t subscribe to everything he does, I follow most of his stuff.  Ferriss believes in taking time for self-reflection and openly thinking about ways to mix things up.  If you want some additional motivation, listen to this recent podcast from the polymath on being a better version of you.

While you are at it, brainstorm about how to mix up your own environment (work or personal) by jotting down the first ten things that come into your mind if asked, “How could I positively disrupt my pattern over the next three months?” or (as Ferriss suggests), “If I needed to accomplish [all] my goals in the next six months, what would I need to focus on?”  If you stop and think about the last bit there for a second… it’s kind of powerful and worth repeating; If you had to get it all done in six months…. what do you need to focus on, right now, to set up the win?

The Forest and the Trees

Why should someone do this?  Because looking over the master plan and ensuring you’re still on course helps you see your goals and take stock in those things you are doing right.  When reflecting upon conducting warfare President Dwight B. Eisenhower once mused, “In preparing for battle I have always found that plans are useless, but planning is indispensable.”  By planning, we make it easier to stay of course when random acts of the universe come to mix things up…and you know they will.

 

“Every time I find myself stressed out, it’s because I do things primarily driven by growth.”

Tim Ferriss

 

As for me, this year I was fortunate enough to get away and discover some white space this last week. With no electronics (except for the ever-present smart phone for emergencies) or distractions, I had a few days of reading, reflecting and note taking.  And yes, I also found some quiet time for my own cup of coffee with myself…and a friend.

jack

 

Note: Last year several people wrote back to me and shared their own thoughts after having that cup o’ joe with themselves and (more importantly) what they discovered.    Let me know how yours goes too.

Keep your head down

 

About Chuck Randolph

Security Leader and Strategic Thinker. I'm focused on driving new ideas and keeping positive momentum in the industry out there. I'm a world traveler and adventurer. Join in and keep the conversation going.

One response to “END OF THE YEAR COFFEE…A REDUX”

  1. billiswray says :

    @Disorderly for Goodness’ Sake
    This is exactly what came out of my annual reflection time. I made some goals last year and through a more deliberate approach (inspired by the Happiness Project ), I was able to make some positive personal changes. I am excited to ‘shake things up’ this year. Serendipitously, Stu just sent me Ferriss’ latest book, so hopefully I will get some great tips. Thanks for sharing this, Liz

Leave a Reply

