Intelligence Analyst – Five things your boss is thinking but may not tell you: TWO is surprising and FIVE is vital

1 – I’m also a critical thinker, I just may not use the same vocabulary as you

Hey, I may not use the same language, but I’m also analytical (I may just not realize it).  By doing operational analysis, I’m developing courses of action (COAs) and making mission assumptions based on the facts in front of me.  When on an operation or in an emergency, I’ll be using what I have gathered and developing COAs based on pre-thought scenarios and trends that are manifesting.  Just like you, I’m a critical thinker; please, remind me of that from time-to-time.

2 – I need you to help me, help you, to help me

Your request for information (RFI) process may not be the same one that I am familiar with.  I also may not fully understand how to ask for what I need or am unsure of what you can do.  Therefore, I need you to take the lead in this dance .  Show me what you’ve got and suggest we walk through the operations plan (OPLAN) together.  When we do that, listen and ask questions.  As an operator, I may not care about the form you need filled out, I do need your insight and keen eye towards pattern analysis to see something I don’t.  Honestly, I need you to be my partner and educate to develop me.

3 – Sometimes, I need you to slow down

You can get excited, I get it (and I like that about you). But, if I’m excited and your excited and we are all excited….well, I need you to be the one to slow down and make sure we are paying attention to detail and managing the little things which always come up in the form of Mr. Murphy – and his damnable law.  Offer up some advice, ensure you stuff is double-checked before you hit send and be that calming voice .  I’ve got a lot going on and sometimes I may just need to see someone being outwardly steadfast.

4 – You don’t have a crystal ball, I know that… let me know what you think anyway

I get it, you’re not 100%.  Guess what, neither am I.  I don’t need you to be all knowing (although, secretly I wish you were). I just need you to give me the best understanding you have and say the same.  If it doesn’t go down the way you describe, I may get cranky…but I don’t blame you (I’m probably blaming myself).  No one expects the black swan’s arrival, but I need you to tell me when you think conditions may be right for impending issues.

Finally, and most important…

5 – I trust you

From the mundane to the insane, you’re my go-to! I may always not say it, but you are.  I have a healthy trust in your abilities.  This is why I ask you to brief first, set the tone and put a ‘realistic’ filter on what’s happening.  The interwebs opened up a whole new meaning to the concept of ‘breaking news ‘and I can’t always be sure they affect our situation.  I know you have my back, you understand my needs, and will tell me what’s important in the din.  Because you’re intelligent, professional, curious and thoughtful… I trust you.

this is dedicated to the my favorite analysts…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Chuck Randolph

Security Leader and Strategic Thinker. I'm focused on driving new ideas and keeping positive momentum in the industry out there. I'm a world traveler and adventurer. Join in and keep the conversation going.

One response to “Intelligence Analyst – Five things your boss is thinking but may not tell you: TWO is surprising and FIVE is vital”

  1. Kristin says :

    Very nice. Any inspiration for the new piece?

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

